Abscess coming out Cornet Band, what to do?

Last post 09-02-2008 1:12 PM by thatwindow. 10 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (11 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Topic Next Topic
  • 06-28-2006 10:19 AM

Abscess coming out Cornet Band, what to do?

I found my pony has a foot abcess, and when the farrier was out he popped it some, but it was too far up for him to pop completely so he told me that it will come out the cornet band. What can I do for her? Continue soaking her with warm water and epsom salt? Should I keep her stalled or turn her out? Any advice would be great! Thanks!

~Kayla
  • 06-28-2006 11:14 AM In reply to

Re: Abscess coming out Cornet Band, what to do?

I am no expert and I am sure others will jump on here soon but I want to say you want her to be able to move as long as the area she is in is dry and clean. It will help with the bloodflow to the area and help it drain and stuff if she can move, I would continue to soak it, calling your vet they should be able to give you some idea of what you can do with it.
  • 06-28-2006 12:05 PM In reply to

I've had a couple horses get abscesses and have done exactly what "comehomesoon" suggested.

The main reason for getting the vet out is to be sure everything came out of the abscess and the vet can give you antibiotics to help fight any infection that might creep into the abscess from the outside Smile
  • 06-28-2006 12:09 PM In reply to

I have called the vet and he said if she does not get better in a couple days to call him, so we shall wait and see. The only turn out I have is in the pasture and it's kinda muddy in some areas and my arena is getting redone so it's missing half a side so I cant stick her in there. I feel so bad for her.
  • 06-28-2006 12:21 PM In reply to