Advice for getting a horse ready to show at halter/showmanship

Last post 12-27-2011 2:49 PM by Major. 5 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (6 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Topic Next Topic
  • 12-14-2011 10:46 AM

Advice for getting a horse ready to show at halter/showmanship

I'm not really new to the world of horses, but I am new to the world of showing. I enjoy working with my horses on the ground but have some nerves when it comes to riding, so a friend recomended showing at halter as a way to participate with my horses and gain trust and confidence with them. I have a couple of 2 year old quarter horse geldings, and I also have a 10 year old quarter horse gelding that I would like to show. So my question is: does anyone have any advice for preparing myself and my horses for a show? Training tips? Ways to get them prepared for all the action at an arena? Things to look for? What judges will be looking for? Etc... Any advice will be greatly appreciated! Thanks! :)

• 12-14-2011 2:40 PM In reply to

Re: Advice for getting a horse ready to show at halter/showmanship

Before you get ready to show make sure your horses are prepared for the show atmosphere: a lot of horses, an unfamiliar place, and unless you plan to show ALL of your horses at the same show and stable them together, they need to be comfortable with none of their buddies with them. That means desensitizing them to new situations, and teaching them that they don't need anybody but you to make them feel safe.

The latter is done by making the horse-human relationship good, with you taking a proper leadership role through teaching them ground manners. That's crucial for the youngsters, but also for the older horse: they need to know that you can protect them from anything, they can rely on you for that.

The former is just a matter of putting mileage on them. Take them to places that are new, like small schooling shows, other barns, even trail rides for the older horse and trail leads for the youngsters.