Peanut Oil Good for Horses??

Last post 04-29-2009 4:24 AM by jholcomb7. 5 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (6 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Topic Next Topic
  • 04-28-2009 1:59 AM

Peanut Oil Good for Horses??

I just purchased a 22 year old mare, and while she is in good health, she is a little under weight.  I heard that adding peanut oil to her grain will give her a shiny coat and help her put on some much needed weight.  Then, of course, someone else told me that horses do not digest oil well and it is not good for them.  Question, can I give my horse oil to increase her weight, and if so, what kind of oil and how much?  If oil is no good, what healthy food can I give to help her gain.  I have a young clydesdale and this is the first time I have dealt with an older horse,,,please help! Tlhanks!

• 04-28-2009 8:27 AM In reply to

Re: Peanut Oil Good for Horses??

I know that corn oil is fantastic for helping horses gain weight.  I have no experience with peanut oil though.

Solaris -- 16 hh Appendix Quarter Horse = MY DREAM COME TRUE!
    We Are Flying Solo
  • 04-28-2009 9:28 AM In reply to

Peanut oil has a very high fat content.  This might be a little too "rich" for her, which might make it difficult for her to digest.

Corn oil is good and horses don't seem to mind the taste.  You can also add wheat or rice bran, which will also give her more calories. Flax seed is also a good supplement.  You could also try vegetable oil (soybean oil), but it is a little more rich and many horses do not like the taste.

As with any change in feed, start slow.  If you decide to feed an oil, start with just a drizzle.  Work up slowly to 1/4 - 1/3 of a cup and stay with that amount and see how she does.  I know some people feed 1cup of oil, but that seems like an awful lot!